Dinner at Palacio – Apr 5, 2015

After our giant breakfast buffet on Easter Sunday, I was filled to the brim. I skipped lunch because the thought of more food was upsetting. Eventually, thanks to digestion, I felt ready to eat again, but not yet ready for a full, hearty meal. My husband felt the same and suggested Palacio because he was craving some healthy chicken soup. I was planning to also order the chicken soup, but when we arrived they were advertising pozole, and I’m a sucker for a good pozole. I got married in Puerto Vallarta and tried pozole for the first time at the resort. It was fine, but nothing special. Then I had homemade pozole, made by my sister-in-law, and was blown away! It was so flavourful and hearty and delicious that I decided to learn how to cook it back home in Canada. The first problem I encountered was finding the ingredients – specifically, hominy – which took a bit of research and the discovery of a great latin market in Calgary. The second problem was the same problem I tend to have with every new recipe I try to make; I don’t prep the ingredients in advance, so I find myself overcooking an ingredient in step 1, while I’m peeling and/or chopping (or mincing, or dicing, etc.) the ingredient for step 2. So my first attempt at pozole was edible, but mediocre. A quick ‘thank you’ to my husband who deals with a lot of my mediocre ‘new’ meals. I did get back on the pozole horse, armed with a new recipe and a fierce desire to get it right…which I did the second time around. Even better, it was a slow cooker recipe, which requires way less attention! Whoa, I went off on a bit of a tangent there! Back to the pozole at Palacio…I waited with anticipation for my meal which – thankfully – arrived quickly. And – also thankfully – it was excellent. It arrived with all the fixins on the side, so that you can adjust it to your liking (lettuce/cabbage, onion, and lime). It’s a very filling soup, and very inexpensive. I’d highly recommend Palacio’s pozole anytime!

Ratings (on a scale of 1-5):
Food taste: 4.5
Food portion size: 5
Food health: 4.5
Service: 3.5
Value: 5
Décor: 2.5
Ambiance: 3
Music: 4.5 (lots of 90’s classic hits – I felt like I was in some kind of wonderful time warp)

Leave a Reply

