Lunch at Karisma – Apr 2, 2015

2015-04-02 Karisma IMG_4933
(
This photo is from YuppieTraveller. Originally posted here)

We played tourist our first few days in D.F. since it was the Semana Santa (Holy Week, leading up to Easter) and there weren’t many people around. What we discovered is that there weren’t many locals around, but the touristy places were rife with people from all over the country. At any rate, we decided to fuel up with some tortilla soup before heading to the Chapultepec Castle. My husband said he’d tried Karisma’s tortilla soup and loved it, so off we went. I’ve had and made tortilla soup many times and I know that there are many slight variations on how it can be prepared, so not every version can be your favourite. Sadly, this version was not for me, although my husband still loved it. What I didn’t like is that there was way too much mozzarella cheese. Some variations don’t use any mozzarella, so it’s not a cornerstone of this traditional dish and I prefer it sans this heavy cheese. The bowl was mostly mozza, in a huge congealed ball…so while I imagine there are many people who’d like – or even love – that, for me it was unappealing. Another thing that didn’t sit well with me – although this one was my own fault – were the guajillo chiles. They were included in the soup whole. I’ve never seen that before; they’re usually sliced. And I usually eat the small slices in my tortilla soup, so I didn’t question whether or not I should eat the 2 whole chiles in my bowl, I just ate them. At this point you might be thinking that my mouth was on fire, but no, the guajillo chile is not spicy. It has a distinct and delicious flavour, but you shouldn’t eat large quantities of it at a time. When I ate them, it was fine…but due to all the cheese and chiles, I spent a horrible night with stomach pains, gurgling, indigestion, and general unrest. If you can tolerate lots of cheese, then I’d recommend the soup, but don’t eat the whole chiles!

Ratings (on a scale of 1-5):
Food taste: 3
Food portion size: 5
Food health: 2.5
Service: 3.5
Value: 3.5
Décor: 3.5 (we ate on the patio)
Ambiance: 3.5
Music: n/a (if there was music playing, I don’t remember it)

Leave a Reply

