Bellopuerto, dinner. Mar 5, 2015

Disclaimer: If the details are a bit fuzzy, please forgive me. We ate at Bellopuerto more than a month ago, and at that time I had no intention of writing about the meal.

A month before our move to Mexico City we took a short trip here to look for an apartment. We found one we loved, but due to some shady contract negotiations from the owner, it didn’t work out (and we’re still living in a hotel now, while waiting on a new apartment). But that’s a story for another day. This is where I want to talk about the wonderful (and sometimes less than wonderful) restaurants we’ve been frequenting. We only ate one meal outside of our hotel during that trip, at Bellopuerto in the neighbourhood of Polanco. The hotel concierge recommended it to us, and he clearly knew what he was talking about. They started us off with some tostadas (baked or fried corn tortillas) and various salsas. This is very common for the restaurant to bring tostadas or totopos (homemade corn tortilla chips) while you wait for your meal. It’s one of the customs I wish Canadian restaurants would adopt! We tried all 3 sauces, which got progressively spicier the greener they were. I only tried 2 drops of the hottest sauce and my mouth was feeling hot until the meal arrived. I had the pulpo chamuscado (scorched or blackened octopus). This wasn’t a big stretch for me, as I grew up eating octopus. In fact, one of the last meals I cooked in Canada was my mom’s octopus recipe, which turned out great, but just a bit overcooked. The octopus at Bellopuerto was cooked, I’m happy to say. It was grilled to perfection and full of flavour. It was served with a side of rice and potatoes (for the starch lover who can’t make up their mind). It was a large portion, but I made sure to have every last bite of the octopus. As for atmosphere, it was a very windy night so we ate inside the restaurant. It was dimly lit, as I’ve noticed most restaurants are, which was fine. My only complaint was that the in-house DJ was not playing very good music, but he was playing it loudly!

Ratings (on a scale of 1-5):
Food taste: 4.5
Food portion size: 5
Food health: 4.5
Service: 4.5
Value: 3.5
Décor: 3.5
Ambiance: 3
Music: 2

2015-03-05 Bellopuerto IMG_3782

Leave a Reply

